2022: It all started here; the distant dream.

It is the last day of the year when I write a letter to myself. This is probably the 6th letter and I hope these letters will find me in the best of my times. It will bring me back to the days that built me and these will help me reminisce my ambitions, aspirations, disappointments, and if anything but disillusionment.

Two thousand twenty-two was astronomically amazing. This year I made many good friends that I will in all probability remember for the rest of my life. To name a few, Tuhin, Kaustav, Ratnadeep, Blaze, Monideep, Amartya, Shibam, Sabyasachi, and Somtirtha amongst the other childhood friends Ayan and Subham. Initially, it all started at a barbeque party but soon we began meeting in the evening to hang out after work. We planned our weekend trips and I don’t remember a single Sunday I was home. We drove and sometimes rode our bikes to faraway locations, and dined at different dhabas and restaurants around the town. For some reason we named our group “Songothon” which in English translates to “a union or an organized body”. A cult classic name; must have been inspired by a Bengali news anchor’s vocabulary who was reporting some illegal organization of people.

Amidst all the experimentation, In January, I came across a domain name for 8$ on the internet. I quickly bought it and set up a website called VAKIL.TECH. I had some idea in mind that I would do something but it wasn’t quite a plan. Later, I discussed this over the weekend with my friends and finally launched a tiny startup out of my laptop in the last week of April with the tagline, “Built on the Calibre of Expert Lawyers”.

In and around march, I went to Kolkata for another internship at the Calcutta High Court, and honestly, this was just for the sake of a vacation. I wanted a break from my usual life. We attended court during the day and went clubbing at night during the entire week.

By the end of September i.e in less than 5 months we served over 1200+ Clients at VAKIL TECH and had an offline presence in more than 3 cities. My days would usually start with 7-8 missed calls from unknown numbers and endless text messages and conference calls scheduled throughout the day; this was the time I felt incredibly happy and all this was happening while I was still in my final year at law school.

After the day’s tiring work I would eventually meet Songothon at Sabyasachi’s new cafe “Chai Biskut” at 7 PM and get back home around 9PM to resume work.

In just a matter of few months, all this turned upside down and the rejoiceful lifestyle changed into a monotonous work-life schedule when I graduated from law school and joined the law chambers of an advocate in Siliguri. Now, I practice law under the guidance of my senior and I’m starting to assist the chamber in civil and criminal cases where I get to stand and plead before the bench. The only thing that worries me is the time constraint. My usual day starts at around 9 AM and I don’t get back home before 11PM.

My senior is a little strange though, in the last 6 months of practice I have been schooled numerous times, and in numerous ways. But I am learning. And now, when he doesn’t shout at me as frequently as he used to, It makes me feel a little out of place. Isn’t it weird?

Given a choice of money vs Experience, I chose the latter, and I am currently struggling to manage the startup, But I think I can do it. It is only a matter of time that I mend my ways and be a little brave.

This reminds me of Conan O’Brien’s commencement speech at Dartmouth College where he said, “Your path at 22 will not be your path at 32 or 42. One’s dream is constantly evolving rising and falling and changing course. Whatever you’re thinking now, it will probably change and that’s okay. But the point is  It is our failure to become our perceived ideal that ultimately defines us and makes us unique. It’s not easy, but if you accept your misfortune and handle it right, your perceived failure can become a catalyst for profound re-invention.

In the last week of December, I and a few friends went out on a road trip. It was quite a fun week at Duka Valley, Kalimpong, and a few places in Sikkim.

What else was this year about?

This was a year where my hard work paid off and things started working out, I struggled and I failed but I also succeeded in many ways. It was the year when I met many people, explored many unknown places, and honestly watched a lot of movies at the theatre. It was a year of prosperity but also uncertainty. A lot of things happened for the first time; I got my license to practice law as an advocate. Bought things with my own money.

Ending this letter with heart whelming thanks and gratitude. May the year 2023 be more warm and welcoming. Happy New Year !!

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑